Do You Love Reading or Do You Love Books?

On Sunday, I was listening to a local NPR radio program called “On the Media” which posed an interesting question, “Do you love reading or do you love books?”  For me, the answer is both.

For author Ann Kirschner, the answer was more involved.  Ms. Kirchner actually read one book, “Little Dorrit” by Charles Dickens in four different formats.  First, she re-read an old copy she owned from her grad school days.  Then, she listened to an audiobook version.  The last two versions of “Little Dorrit” were on her Kindle and on her iPhone.

I don’t think that I could ever give up my books, but what about you?  Please let me know what you think!  Do you love books, or do you like to read, or both?  Please leave me a comment.

I have posted the link to the transcript of the “On the Media” interview here:  http://www.onthemedia.org/transcripts/2009/06/19/08.

One thought on “Do You Love Reading or Do You Love Books?”

  1. Interesting question. I love reading. It is one of my passions. When I read a well written book it’s hard not to feel that I’ve been sucked up into the “reality” of the characters. I also love books. I love the smell of a new textbook far more than the smell of a new car. I love how they look in my bookcases. I love how they feel in my hands. So which do I love more? It’s hard to say.

Leave a Reply

