Do you judge a book by its cover?

MissingDo you often decide which book to read based on the cover?  I do!  My latest pick based on the cover is “The Missing” by Tim Gautreaux.  This book is currently on my night table and I hope to post a review soon!

I first saw this book at Costco and couldn’t wait to read it!  As my mother is a librarian, I put in my request and picked it up a couple of weeks later.

Let me know if you choose books based on the cover and if so what your most recent picks were.  I can’t wait to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “Do you judge a book by its cover?”

  1. I might pick up a book because of its cover but I am far more likely to buy a book because I’ve heard enough about it to know that I’d like it.

    I had a teacher who told us to turn to the back of the dustcover of a book to read the summary. Then we should read the first page of the book and then make the final decision by flipping immediately to the last page.

  2. I think my judgement of buying a book is based 40% on the book cover, 30% on the Title of the book, 10% on the author, 10% from the synopsis on the back of the book and 10% on the quality of the papers in the book.

    One of my all time Favourite book is Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts, I also picked up A thousand splendid suns by Khaled Hosseini bcoz it cover looked very intriguing.

    1. Interesting that you should list “Shantaram.” This book is on my GoodReads “To Read” list. One reason is for the faraway location and the other is the cover!

      I have read “A Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hosseini and highly recommend it.

      Thanks for your comment and I hope you’ll stop by often!

  3. More often than not, I do pick a book based on the cover. The book summary has to lure me in once I have been attracted by the cover. I typically only read the first few sentences of the summary so they have to be good!

Leave a Reply

