Are angels among Us?

The Booklover’s Rating:  ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

I could not have been more excited when I found out that Javier Sierra had a new book coming out and when I finally got my hands on it, I was not disappointed.  I have  read all of Sierra’s books and am constantly watching out for his latest thriller.  His newest book  is not my favorite (that is The Lady in Blue), but you must read this if you love a good conspiracy thriller.

The premise of this novel is that man has continuously sought ways to communicate directly with God (this brings to my mind the beautiful painting The Creation of Adam by Michelangelo) and in the novel The Lost Angel there are a few who possess the means to do this.  Those who possess “stones of Adam” can use them to communicate not only with God, but with other higher beings.  Two people who possess these stones are the undercover American scientist Martin Faber and his wife Julia Álvarez.

The book opens as we learn that Martin Faber has been kidnapped by terrorists who wish to bring about the end of the world.  Convinced that they are the descendants of angels, they believe they are on the verge of at last being returned to heaven.  Martin’s only hope for survival is his psychic wife, Julia Alvarez.  She has about seventy-two hours to save her husband, while running from religious extremists and clandestine government agencies.  The Lost Angel takes place in various locations across the world, from the summit of Mount Ararat to the high desert of New Mexico, from the monuments of Washington, DC, to the medieval city of Santiago de Compostela in Spain.  The thrilling locales add to the tension in the story!

Sierra spent years investigating scientific and historical mysteries related to mankind’s efforts to communicate directly with God and the novel includes a wonderful glossary of the author’s research.  This makes for fascinating reading in itself.  I only wish that a bibliography had been included as well.

I loved The Lost Angel and look forward to Sierra’s next novel.  The waiting begins…

I received an advanced reader’s edition of this book free from Atria Books.  I was not required to write a review (positive or otherwise) and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

Book Details:  Published by Atria Books (October 4, 2011), 400 pages, ISBN: 1451632797.

Leave a Reply

