Book Review: Widow’s Might by Sandra Brannan

The Booklover’s Rating:

I wasn’t sure how I would like this book, sometimes crime fiction can be a little formulaic and I’ve read enough to find it sometimes interesting, sometimes boring.  I really liked Widow’s Might though.  The topic of land conservation and at what cost with the history tie-in made it worth the read.  I liked Brannan’s handling of the issues in a way that wasn’t too heavy, but made for more thoughtful reading in a relatively light crime novel.

The South Dakota setting also really does it for me in the case of Widow’s Might.  I can’t say that I have read many books set in this part of the country and Brannan does a fantastic job of incorporating the history, the geography, and the special character of the people of South Dakota (excepting the criminal who doesn’t seem to share this special character).

The mystery is a little formulaic and I thought early on that I had it wrapped up.  Brannan does throw you off track, but it does seem pretty easy to come to the right conclusion as you read.  Keep reading though, as the unfolding history tie-in is well worth the read!

There was a somewhat related story about Theodore Roosevelt’s North Dakota ranch on National Public Radio last week.  If the subject matter of Widow’s Might interests you, you may want to give it a listen.

Now for the really great news!  The Booklover will have a guest post tomorrow from Sandra Brannan, author of the Liv Bergen series of mystery novels.  Widow’s Might is the third in the series.  Don’t miss this!

Book Details:  Published by Greenleaf Book Group Press (August 7, 2012), 304 pages, ISBN: 1608323722.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Widow’s Might by Sandra Brannan”

  1. I think I will read it particularly because I have not read much about South Dakota or land conservation and the issues around it. How great to be able to expand my knowledge on those topics while reading a good mystery. Glad to have caught this review.

  2. I seem to have a hard time finding crime fiction that I like. I’m always willing to give (nearly) any genre a try and you’ve intrigued me with this review 🙂

Leave a Reply

