Book Review: The Penguin Book of Witches

Book of WitchesThe Booklover’s Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

As few days ago, I was perusing books on the Internet and The Penguin Book of Witches caught my eye.  The cover is interesting, but what really caught my attention is that the book was edited by Katherine Howe.  Yes, the Katherine Howe of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane.  Immediately, I ordered my copy of the book.

When ordering, I didn’t pay much attention to the specifics of the book, so when the book arrived, I was surprised at it’s slimness.  I was looking for a tome.  Nonetheless, the book is full of writings from the 16th and 17th century writings on witchcraft and make for interesting reading on how accusations of witchcraft grew and spread.  The Penguin Book of Witches is a wonderful choice of reading material for the season!

Book Details:  Published by Penguin Classics (September 30, 2014), 320 pages, ISBN: 978-0143106180.

 

Leave a Reply

